New sound with Francois

Something has been changing in the sound spectrum of the Absinto Orkestra: Francois Heun is playing with us now. And he is upstaging us with his sopran sax - if he is not grabbing a deep pitcher to make the audience quiver. We are absolutely delighted and pleased to present this new colour in the Absinto universe to you!

Thoughts

Many times I asked myself: Is there any chance to help music come true? Is it even appropriate to describe music with words. Doesn't it already destroy the poetry if I read about music? The most inspiring music uses the human voice just as an instument and it is comprehensible to everyone in the audience - especially if they are not even speaking the respective language. When they feel the speech deep in the guts, in the mind, somewhere, where there is nothing more to say. I think that the album Black Eyes works exactly like that. Because of its depth. Whenever you dive into these black eyes you will get lost. That does not really make sense, but it feels really awesome. What am I writing about? Sorry, I have no clue. Well... looks like that's the way it works.
Kai Schmidt

About "Absinto Orkestra"

Dashing full speed from stage to stage in Germany, the Absinto Orkestra is one of the Balkan-Beat Express' haul engines. And this is going on for than 15 years. Inspired by the mesmerizing rhythms of eastern european wedding music, five musicians tell their very own story: A story about the violine players love for classical music, the guitar players passion for Django Reinhardt, the saxophone players devotion for Jazz and the russian origin of the bass player as well as the bessarabian roots of the mandolin player.

Absito live on the stage is not only an irresistible invitation to sing and dance and clap along. It is also like celebrating anthems of life comprising everything that makes up our short existance: love, evanescence, desire, melancholy and frenzy.

  • Stefan Ölke Stefan Ölke (acoustic guitar, vocals, mandolin) learned how to pull the strings in a mandolin orchestra. He also beats the drums in a samba-batucada and composes for theater plays. He obtained his qualities as a frontman during the times beeing a street musician in Germany, France and Italy.
  • Jo Schappert Jo Schappert (acoustic guitar / vocals) got his first guitar in 1978. Ever since then he explores the world of six strings and draws inspiration by every kind of music he likes. He was playing on stage with rock bands just as happily as alone with a dobro or classical guitar. He also acts as a composer and Manager for Absinto.
  • Jolly Reinig Jolly Reinig (violin) does not only honour his grandfathers old stage costume. Also he plays granddad's devilish fiddle. Just like in the old fashioned way, he can let it weep or gallop until the bow's hairs are glowing.
  • Pavel Klimashevski Pavel Klimashevski (string bass) keeps the rhythm of the Absinto bunch together. But occasionally he can't help it to go for some escapades. His affinity for modern Jazz lets him flirt with appealing virtuoso passages from time to time. But also he presents solid and almost rough bass sounds - with a lot of power and love. Furthermore his compositions and arrangements expand the Absinto universe, presenting even more and delicate facets.
  • Francois Heun Some day in the future, here you'll find a picture and a text, revealing the most intimate secrets of our ambitious sax player - or what ever...
  • Mehr Musiker Sometimes on stage Absinto Orkestra is looking slightly different, whilst the sound remains similar: Clinton Heneke often supports us as singer and percussionist, Bastian Weinig is frequently paying the double bass, Frank Völker is helping out with percussion from time to time and also our Gadjo Records boss Hans Bender sometimes appears as composer, on the microphone or even as bass player. On special occasions Thomas Rohoska swings by with his accordeon. And sometimes, if two guitars aren't just enough, we enjoy pure guitar delight with Joscho Stephan oder Lulo Reinhardt.

Neue CD: Leeheim

Sie ist da: Seit dem 11.03.2017 ist unsere neue Live-CD kaufbar, und sie kommt mit einigen Schmankerln daher: Neben Joscho Stephan haben auch Lea und Marina Antunovic, Mira Bernzott und Thomas Rohoska an der Scheibe mitgewirkt. Ein großes Dankeschön geht an die BüchnerBühne, Team17audio, Gadjo Records, Roland Wedel und unser Publikum – ohne Euch wäre die CD nicht möglich gewesen!

Gedanken

Ich habe mir oft überlegt ob es eine Möglichkeit gibt, Musik zur Wahrheit zur verhelfen. Oder in die Wirklichkeit. Ob es überhaupt legitim ist, Klang in Worten auszudrücken. Ob das nicht eigentlich die Poesie schon zerstört, wenn ich über Musik lese. Die beste Musik braucht den Gesang nur als Instrument und ist verständlich, gerade wenn der Zuhörer der jeweiligen Sprache überhaupt nicht mächtig ist. Wenn er die Rede fühlt. Im Bauch, in der Erinnerung, irgendwo, da, wo es nichts mehr zu sagen gibt. Ich glaube Schwarze Augen funktionieren genau so. Wegen ihrer Tiefe. Wer hineinstürzt verliert sich darin. Das macht dann zwar nicht wirklich Sinn, aber fühlt sich unheimlich gut an. Worum es eigentlich geht? Vergessen! Achso. So geht das also.
Kai Schmidt

Über Absinto Orkestra

Der Balkan-Beat-Express rattert ungebremst über Deutschlands Bühnenbretter, und das Absinto Orkestra ist seit mehr als 10 Jahren eine der Lokomotiven. Inspiriert von den mitreißenden Rhythmen osteuropäischer Hochzeitskapellen erzählen fünf Musiker ihre ganz eigene Geschichte: Von der Liebe des Geigers zur Klassik, von der Django Reinhardt-Passion des Gitarristen, von der russischen Heimat des Mannes am Kontrabass, von den südafrikanischen Straßenmusiker-Jahren des Trommlers und von den bessarabischen Wurzeln des singenden Mandolinenspielers.

Die Live-Performance der Absintos ist nicht nur eine unwiderstehliche Aufforderung zum Mitsingen, Tanzen und Klatschen – hier werden Hymnen auf das Leben zelebriert, die alles einbeziehen, was diese kurze Spanne ausmacht: Liebe und Vergänglichkeit, Witz und Sehnsucht, Melancholie und Rausch.

  • Stefan Ölke Stefan Ölke (Akustische Gitarre, Gesang, Mandoline) hat das Saitenzupfen im Mandolinenorchester gelernt, trommelt in einer Samba-Batucada und komponiert fürs Theater. Seine Frontmann-Qualitäten hat er sich während seiner Straßenmusikerzeit in Deutschland, Frankreich und Italien zugelegt.
  • Jo Schappert Jo Schappert (Akustische Gitarre, Gesang) bekam 1978 seine erste Gitarre geschenkt, erforscht seitdem die Welt der sechs Saiten und lässt sich von jeder Musik inspirieren, die ihm gefällt. Mit Rockbands stand er ebenso gerne auf der Bühne wie alleine mit Dobro oder klassischer Gitarre. Er komponiert und kümmert sich ums Absinto-Management.
  • Jolly Reinig Jolly Reinig (Violine) hält nicht nur das alte Bühnenoutfit seines Großvaters in Ehren, sondern spielt auch Opas Teufelsgeige, die er in alter Väter Sitte mal weinen und mal galoppieren lässt, bis am Bogen die Rosshaare glühen.
  • Pavel Klimashevski Pavel Klimashevski (Kontrabass) widmet sich der Aufgabe, den Absinto-Haufen rhythmisch zusammenzuhalten, kann sich aber gelegentliche Eskapaden nicht verkneifen. Durch seine Zuneigung zu modernen Richtungen des Jazz liebäugelt er hin und wieder mit virtuosen und ansprechenden Passagen, aber auch der solide, fast schon rohe Musikpuls wird von ihm liebe- und kraftvoll präsentiert. Zudem erweitern seine Kompositionen und Arrangements das musikalische Absintouniversum um weitere – vor allem filigranere – Facetten.
  • Clinton Heneke Clinton Heneke (Percussion, Löffel, Gesang) lebt den Groove und feuert die Musik gerne mit wohlpatzierten Akzenten an, wobei seine Liebe zum Detail den Songs eine inspiriernde exotische Note verleiht.
  • Mehr Musiker Manchmal sieht das Absinto Orkestra bei ähnlichem Klang etwas anders aus: Bastian Weinig steht bei uns immer wieder am Kontrabass, Frank Völker hilft uns mit Percussion, und auch unser Gadjo Records Labelchef Hans Bender ist gelegentlich als Komponist Gast am Mikrofon oder auch Kontrabassist. Thomas Rohoska schaut mit seinem Akkordeon auch zu besonderen Anlässen vorbei, und manchmal, wenn uns zwei Gitarren nicht genügen, genießen wir pure Gitarrenfreude mit Joscho Stephan oder Lulo Reinhardt.